De La Salle Wrestling team takes State Championship trophy in Division

Triumphant members of the 2016 De La Salle Wrestling team proudly display their trophies. They include (1st row) Kaleb Scheurmann, Glenn Gebo, Jamar Brown, Grant Gebo – 4th, Patrick Krake, Sean Barbarin – 5th, Jeff Hefner – 3rd , Gabe Tujague; (2nd row) Peyton Smith, Akeem Terrel, Raekwon Thomas – 3rd, Ryan Hamrick – 2nd, Conrad Wyre – 2nd, Zennon Park, Alex Ormond, Adam Hedrick, Landon Dorsey – 2nd; (3rd row) Charles Carr, Trenton Anderson, Jamiran James, Donté Lewis, Walter Johnson; and (4th row) Jeremiah James – 2nd, Eric Hamrick – 4th, and Jalen Haydel.

For the first time since their powerhouse teams of the 1970s, De La Salle High School took the State Wrestling Division III Championship under Head Coach Rod Cusachs.

Although none of his wrestlers took individual honors, the team had enough boys place high enough to give their team the edge in competition.

Prior to the State competition, the team also placed 1st in their District competition. State finishers included Sean Barbarin – 5th, Grant Gebo – 4th, and Eric Hamrick – 4th.  Placing third in their weight categories were Jeffrey Hefner and Raekwon Thomas.  State Runners-up included Conrad Wyre, Landon Dorsey, Ryan Hamrick and Jeremiah James.

“We talked about the importance of being a team all year,” Coach Cusachs said, “and the way the boys wrestled this year showed they got it.”

Assistant Coaches included Bobby Ledoux, Jason Hamrick, Spencer Simpson, and Alex Martin.





Scroll to Top